homepage, News

Open Competition Opponents in 2023

The fixtures for the 2023 season are being made at present. A breakdown of Merrion’s opponents across the various leagues, cups and T20 competitions are set out below.


1st XI  The Premier League is made up of eight teams. Our opponents this year are Balbriggan, Leinster, Railway Union, The Hills, Malahide, Clontarf and YMCA. There are four groups on four in the Alan Murray [T20] Cup. Merrion are up against Leinster, Dublin University and North Kildare. Merrion has a home draw against Railway Union in the Leinster Senior Cup and travel to Munster to play Cork Harlequins.

The 2nd XI [2nd XI Premier League] consists of Merrion 2, North County 2, Clontarf 2, Malahide 2, Leinster 2, Pembroke 2, Railway Union 2 and YMCA 2. The 2nds are drawn away to Laois in the Senior II Cup and are in Group B of the Tillain along with Clontarf 2, Balbriggan 2 and Knockharley.

The 3rd XI [Division 4] is a tough group with Cork Harlequins, Balbriggan 2, Knockharley, Phoenix 2, The Hills 2, YMCA 3 and Wexford Wanderers. The 3rds take on Adamstown 2, The Hills 2 and Leinster 3 in Group A of the YMCA [T20] Salver.

The 4th XI compete in Division 7 along with Adamstown 2, Castleknock, Civil Service 3, Greystones, Kilkenny, Phoenix 3 and Tyrrelstown. Their opponents in the Middle [T20] Cup are Tyrrelstown, Athlone, and Bagenalstown.

In Division 11 the Merrion 5th XI come up against Finglas, Naas, North County 4, Rush 3, Swords 2, Tyrrelstown 2, and YMCA 4. They also take part in the Whelan [T20] Cup against Terenure 3, Mullingar 2 and North Kildare 4.

Having dropped a league from last season, the 6th XI now find themselves alongside Ashbourne 2, Clondalkin 2, Leinster 5, Malahide 5, North County 5, Slieve Bloom and Onger in Division 14. Merrion are pitted against Onger, Wexford Wanderers 2, Clontarf 6, Leinster 5, Malahide 5, and Dundalk in the Junior [T20] Cup.

Merrion have entered a 7th XI for the first time in a while and they have been positioned in Division 19 against Carlow 3, Castleknock 4, Dundalk 2, Halverstown 2, Leinster 6, Onger 2 and Sandyford 4. Their T20 opponents in the Adamstown Cup are Adamstown 7, North Kildare 6, Sandyford 4, Onger 2 and Tyrrelstown 5.

Leave a Reply