John Anderson wins Club Player of Year Award [Mens]

Congratulations to John Anderson who has been awarded the Men’s Club Player of the Year award for 2020. While he may not have got to celebrate in person [same problem for the Golden Globe Awards] this does not take anything away from his performances last season when he 364 runs in six T20 matches at an average of 72.8. 

John also won the Marchant Cup for batting for the third time in a row. This award, which dates back to 1921, has only been won in three consecutive years by Alf Masood [1985 – 1987] and by Jeremy Bray [1998 – 2003]. Illustrious company indeed. 

Previous Merrion Marchant Cup winners were Paddy Waldron [1943] and Simon Curley [1951 & 1958]. 

The full article can be accessed on the Cricket Leinster website.